Mimi’s Avatar!!

Mimi’s Avatar!!

Hello Everyone, This is my Avatar! I decided for this assignment it would be fitting to create a stylized self-portrait of myself, because when I think of an ‘avatar’ a cartoon image is always what comes to my mind.

Comic class avatar w nameTo begin I’ll start off by saying that I really enjoy abstract and surreal visual art, so I thought it would be perfect to create my avatar with those styles in mind. When creating this image I wanted it to reflect different aspects of my personality in a subtle way while still portraying elements of my physical appearance (despite being highly stylized). I also wanted my avatar to incorporate some techniques that are used in comic making, such as style and mood. The choices that I decided to utilize to get my intentions across to the viewer were: choice of color palette, simplicity, and mood.

Color Palette:

For the color palette of my avatar I decided to use bright and unnatural colors to reenforce the intended surreal and unrealistic style of the piece. In addition to that, the use of bright shades helped to reflect my creative personality. My creative outlets consist of painting, drawing, clothing, and designing. I really enjoying creating art-pieces and putting together clothing-pieces that incorporate bright and slightly obnoxious colors. Overall, the use of color palette helped me incorporate my flashy personality into the avatar.

Simplicity:

Simplicity was a key part in the composition of my avatar. I wanted the image to be very scribbly and slightly unperfected. This choice was done to reflect my  happy go lucky overall outlook on life. I try not to take life to seriously and I also trying to find the simplicity in things that would typically be deemed as stressful. I also relyed on simplicity because it is an art style that would help me portray my intended mood more easily.

Mood/ Style:

Last but not least mood! (my favorite topic went it comes to artistic creation!) In my opinion mood and style go hand in hand when it comes to visual thinking and writing. The style of a piece almost always influences the mood. Like I stated previously I wanted the style of my avatar to be dramatized and stylized. I chose those two styles to portray a whimsical and light hearted mood. I wanted the viewer of the piece to get a subliminal sense of my nonchalant attitude by just lunderstanding the style of my piece!

 

 

One thought on “Mimi’s Avatar!!

  1. Welcome to the class, Mimi. Excited that you enjoy drawing and abstract/surreal art and looking forward to seeing how you bring those interests to bear on the assignments in this course.

    Like

Leave a comment