My Thoughts on The Literacy Narrative

My Thoughts on The Literacy Narrative

In my literacy narrative I uncover a few (of the many) fundamental parts of my childhood that shaped the way I felt about reading and writing. I also tell a few stories about how my perspective about writing shifted once I got to middle class.

relection one
Drawn by Myself

Make sure to check out the full post! You can find it right here.

The process of writing my literacy narrative was a greater task than I initially thought I would be. It was interesting to me how when I first started writing I felt like had no idea what to say, even though I was just supposed to write about my personal experience. I kind of felt that there was a possibility that my essay could be incorrect or invalid. I think this is because it has been a while since I wrote an essay in a class with a casual tone. I wasn’t very used to writing with ‘I’ or with the use of emotion or opinions, so it was a bit daunting to me at first. However, I think the starting prompts really helped me formulate my ideas because there was no pressure since I knew no one was going to see them. Overall, the starting prompts helped me get my ideas on to paper, so I was able to use them whenever I was feeling stuck on the essay. But funny enough by the time had gotten my ideas together I reached a point where I had so much more I wanted to say, but the word count wouldn’t allow it. However, I think the word count was in a good range because it forced me to only keep the parts that were the most important to me.

Leave a comment